Welcome to STARFest


Board chairJanice Marschner
Library Board Chair

Welcome to St. Albert Public Library and to StarFestLogo P539 P362 LR

Once again the stars come out in force for our eighth annual Readers’ Festival! This stellar event is just one example of the innovative and exciting programs and services the Library offers throughout the year. If you have not visited in a while, take the time to check out all that’s available—including free memberships for all residents! Thank you for your continued support.

Mayor Heron for websiteCathy Heron
Mayor of St. Albert

 Welcome to St. Albert and to StarFestLogo P539 P362 LR

I am delighted to be able to welcome such an amazing lineup of authors to St. Albert, and equally delighted to welcome STARFest audiences as you gather for this year’s literary festival. STARFest brings the community together in a shared love of Canadian writing, and whether you are an avid reader, or a fledging or established writer, I know you will enjoy the St. Albert Readers' Festival.

heather for websiteHeather Dolman Festival Director

The Insiders Guide to StarFestLogo P539 P362 LR

STARFest 2018 brings you an exceptional lineup of great writers, many with brand new books only due to hit the shelves in the late summer and fall. Be among the first to get the scoop on new works of fiction from Eden Robinson, Patrick DeWitt and Esi Edugyan.

We love to invite guests whose own stories you will enjoy hearing, such as former Governor General David Johnston, iconic musician (and now writer) Tom Wilson, and the creator of the books that inspired The Murdoch Mysteries TV series, Maureen Jennings.

Once again STARFest introduces you to those who have written their first book: Katherine Ashenburg, Ellen Keith, Cait Flanders and Sharon Bala, and to a couple of writers whose first novels you loved and who have returned with amazing new titles this year: Elinor Florence and Emma Hooper.

This year STARFest also has a great lineup for lovers of speculative fiction with fantasy and game writer Patrick Weekes and a spooky panel of writers for Halloween.

This year’s hosts are Barry Bailey, Diana Davidson, Laurel Deedrick-Mayne, Marina Endicott, Michael Hingston, Jesse Lipscombe, Janice McDonald, Zach Polis, Richard Van Camp and SG Wong.